Please bookmark the correct page at http://suzannadanna.net/ Princess of Irony

The Road to Baton Rouge - Part Two

Issue Date: Tuesday, Jul. 12, 2005

The rest of the day at work passed at a snail�s pace. She pulled all of the contracts that she could think of to work on. She rearranged her desk. She rearranged her boss� desk. She did the work orders for the service log. She called the manufactures about the upcoming inventory to make sure things were on track. She started in on the sales guys around 3pm and they called for mercy.

Sales Guy#1: Bossman!!!!
Bossman: (gruffly) What?!
Sales Guy#1: She�s riding us about our contacts and contracts�
Sales Guy#2: � and my work orders�
Sales Guy#3: and my closing coming up on Tuesday�
Bossman: (gruffly) That�s my girl.
Sales Guy#1: Man, it�s Friday and it is dead out there. The heat ran everyone off after 11 am.
Sales Guy#2: And she�s really cranky.
Bossman: (gruffly) Ma�am?
Her: Yes sir?
Bossman: (gruffly) May I see you in my office please?
Her: Yes sir�

She followed her boss down the hallway to his office and when she went inside, he closed the door behind her. Her eyes got huge immediately.

Bossman: (not gruffly at all) You ok doll?
Her: Yes sir??
Bossman: Bullshit. I heard you on the phone. Do you need to leave a bit early?
Her: ::sniff:: yes, sir.
Bossman: Now� if you needed anything� would you tell me?
Her: �yes�?
Bossman: I didn�t think so either. ::sigh:: Just know the offer stands.
Her: Yes sir�
Bossman: Ok, now, get out of here. And be careful.
Her: thank you�

She packed up her stuff, shut down her desk and went out the door while the salesmen were in their respective offices, as not to get any friendly ribbing about her leaving so early. She headed home and wished for a mental tick board. Pros and Cons as a list was a big part of her decision making process. And whether or not she was going to tell her husband about leaving for a weekend trip to Baton Rouge was weighing on her and she could physically feel the pressure building.

Her mind went in circles.

Her thought process almost verbatim: �Should I tell him? He never tells me a damn thing. He waits for me to find out then says, �Oh, that?� I was going to tell you�� Gah. My biggest harping point about this relationship, this marriage, is communication. Two wrongs don�t make a right� or is that a left? (bah dum chhh) Shit. No time for jokes. I always promised I would tell him if someone even flirted with me or whatever. He promised the same. So much for his promise. It has been broken way too many times, it is basically shattered. Why does this have to be so hard? The righteous indignation martyr part of me is screaming for me to tell him so I can say with a small snort and a look down my nose at him, �I always told you EVERYTHING. But nooo, you never told me ANYTHING!� Yeah, throw those blanket statements around. ::eyeroll:: Maybe this underhanded shit is the only language he speaks. We have been over this for years. Years. It is not like he is mentally disabled� and hears everything else I say except, �Please do not mess around on me and make me look like a fool. This town is minuscule, everyone knows everyone else�s business, if you must be a whore, be discreet, but for the Love of PETE, tell me FIRST!� Gah. Not too much to ask? No?.. That settles it. I�ll tell him that I am leaving for the weekend, he is not to know where I am going� and I�ll discuss it with him when I get back on Sunday evening.�

After making up her mind, she felt so much better.

She took a deep breath and pressed her foot down on the accelerator, she wanted to get home, pack and let her husband know that she was leaving for an impromptu mini vacation. He would only be privy to that information. No other. He had lost that right when he had broken his promise to her again.

She reached the county road and slowed down, itching to fly along the blacktop and have the canopy of pine trees be a blur. She crested a hill and saw a log truck in front of her and was glad for her foresight to slow down.

She turned into the property drive and went down to the house, all sand flying and dogs chasing her car. She stopped the car in front of the house, noted that her husband was home and, after pausing briefly to greet the dogs, she went inside.

She did not call out for him as she normally did when she entered the house, she went straight to the bedroom and grabbed a bag and started packing. With the noise of the closet door opening, her husband appeared in the doorway.

Him: Hey, you�re home early�
Her: Yes, I am.
Him: Can we talk about this morning?
Her: I�d really rather not.
Him: Really? Why not? And what are you packing for?
Her: I don�t want to keep rehashing things that we�ve said so many times over,
Him: ...
Her: and I�m going away for the weekend.
Him: Where?
Her: I don�t think I�ll tell you until I get home on Sunday.
Him: But�
Her: �(talking over him) BUT I will check in with you and let you know I am safe when I get there, and when I leave for the trip home Sunday afternoon.
Him: Why won�t you tell me?
Her: I don�t think you want to push me on this. I�m going to leave now and I hope you have a nice weekend.

And with that, she walked out the door.

|

Back Issues ::: Current Issue

Please switch to the Suzannadanna.net site. - Friday, May. 23, 2008

- - Monday, Apr. 14, 2008

C'mon y'all - Friday, Feb. 22, 2008

C'Mon! - Wednesday, Feb. 13, 2008

- - Friday, Dec. 28, 2007


Follow this Link to the Cheese Club. Enter your photo in our Cheese Off Contest!

100 Things About Me

Sign the Guestbook

gmail me babies

Notified users get the dirt before EVERYONE ELSE!
Enter your email here:
Powered by NotifyList.com


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.

To understand this dear reward (above) at all, you must hie thee on and read gatsby�s grape ape entry and my comments.

And because of said comments he sent me my very own dream turtle in an email titled wee gift with these words attached, �my purple monkey is booked solid so i ordered you a tangerine turtle. hope he proves helpful.�

The Graphic Below Courtesy of Papernapkin.


My Amazon Wish List.

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
[ Registered ]

Rate Me on Diarist.Net By Clicking Here

Diaryland

Who Links Here View blog reactions